metaphysical self-care and protection

I’m finding Jenett Silver’s “Self-Care in Difficult Times” post on gleewood.org/seeking a massively helpful resource right now.

I’m finding this “Self-Care in Difficult Times” post and list of helpful links by Jenett Silver on gleewood.org/seeking a massively helpful resource right now.

In particular, Silver’s advice about cleansing, centering and grounding, and shielding is helping me out. I’m doing the energetic cleansing and the centering-and-grounding practices a lot more consistently in the past few days than I have since I first picked up a Galina Krasskova book telling me to do such things! (Silver and Krasskova differ in the details, but the broad strokes are similar.) And I finally figured out how to shield! (The visualization that stuck is bronze armor, akin to Athena’s.)

Silver also observes that cutting down on the disturbing input is a valuable self-care tool; I am two days into what I intend will be about a week of no Facebook, no Twitter, no Imzy, avoiding a particular IRC channel, ignoring certain content coming through Feedly and email, and filtering out certain content from Dreamwidth. (Also no Tumblr, but honestly I hadn’t opened that tab in weeks or months anyway.) This cuts me off from a bunch of supportive people I really only have contact with through Facebook, but I’m certainly not the first in that circle to vanish for a few days for recent-events-related self-care reasons. And I’m…calm. I’m not wholly avoiding recent-events news, because I can’t avoid my coworkers, but I can certainly turn up the volume on the music playing through my headphones when the politically minded coworkers are chatting.

I also, thanks to advice from a Dreamwidth friend who perhaps wishes to remain anonymous outside DW access-lock, looked into setting wards with charged amethysts. I’ve not done much (read: any) energy work beyond centering, grounding, and shielding before, so I’m not wholly certain it worked? But I now have a bunch of cleansed and charged tumbled amethysts distributed around my apartment, running on—if I did things right—some of my own energy, some energy from Earth and Sky, and whatever Hestia and Athena are willing on the basis of my prayers to expend to protect me. And I can see, when I try, that the boundaries of my apartment are delineated now by a silvery-purple wall layered with the bronze one I envisioned almost as soon as I figured out the bronze-armor visualization for personal shields.

(You know, we really need distinct words for the physical and the metaphysical sensory experiences, even when those experiences run in parallel.)

Now if I could get past the ‘earth’ part of a four-element cleansing for the inside of my apartment, I’d be getting somewhere!

Leave a Reply

