My Armor

My armor is defiance.
My armor is just spite.
My armor is the promise
that one of these tomorrows
things will be all right.
My armor is a bumper sticker
says I’m queer and #ImWithHer.
My armor is a painted target,
but it fits me snug and tight.

I pray Athena will defend me,
and all my people too,
that She Who Girds With Armor
has armor that fits you.

My armor is a pendant
shaped like a dragon’s wing.
My armor is amethyst,
one bead on one earring.
My armor is a pendant
shaped like a double axe.
My armor is gardenia scent
and knowing all the facts.

I was a women’s studies student,
and writing is my passion.
I don’t know all, but I do know
it’s time to set a fashion:
write with courage and with honor.
It’s time to change the narrative.
“Diversify respectfully”‘s
my writing imperative.
I have no other weapons.
I have no other arms.
I have no other way to fight back,
to answer these alarms.

I pray Athena will defend me,
and all my people too,
you trans ones, you disabled,
you queers, you women, you
brave people of color, you religious
minorities. All of you are scared
and I can’t say I’m not,
but She Who Girds With Armor
has our backs, and that’s a lot.

My armor is defiance.
My armor is just spite.
My armor is the words I need
to make it through the night.
And She girds me with this armor,
and tonight, at least, I live.
Stay strong, all my people,
stay brave, stay combative.
You live. You live. You live.

Leave a Reply

